Team Requirements


All players on tournament teams must also be registered as individual members of the IQA. There is no limit on the number of players who can belong to a quidditch team; however, no more than 21 players can be on a team's tournament or game roster for any particular event.

Players may only play official games for one team per season. Any player who wants to switch between teams mid-season must submit a waiver to the gameplay department in advance requesting permission and explaining their reasoning. Email for a waiver.

Regular season schedule

All teams must compete in a minimum number of IQA official and ranked games during the season against a minimum number of teams in multiple locations. Regional championships and World Cup do not count toward this total. Read more.

Submitting game scores

Starting in the 2013-2014 season, only head referees or tournament directors will input scores onto the website.

Referee certification

For the 2013-2014 season, referee certification will be divided into three distinct levels: assistant referee, snitch referee, and head referee. Candidates may achieve assistant or snitch referee certification in any order, but only those candidates that have passed both the assistant and snitch referee referee levels may move on to the head referee certification process. Assistant and snitch referee testing only consists of a written test and is free, but head referee testing consists of a written and field test and requires a $25 fee.

Individuals who were certified under the previous rulebook will need to re-certify by passing the written test again and paying a $15 fee instead of the regular $25 fee for new applicants. If they fail their first attempt at re-certification, they do not get to reattempt the test for free.

Referees certified during the 2013-2014 season will have to become re-certified after the end of the 2013-2014 season.

Certification requirements:

  • At least two (2) team members must attempt to certify as assistant referees.
  • At least one (1) team member must attempt to certify as a snitch referee.
  • At least one (1) team member must pass the head referee written test.

*It is possible for two team members to satisfy the referee requirement for that team. For example, one team member may become an assistant referee, while the other may pass the head referee test, and therefore satisfy the team’s referee requirement for the official membership plan.

A new level of referee will be added: Referee Training Coordinator (RTC). Exceptional head referees who have proven the ability to train and judge referee quality will be appointed by the RDT to administer referee tests, including field tests, during the certification process. They may also review existing referees for quality assurance purposes.

Referees will no longer be able to complete certification by team review. They must be field tested by an RDT member or a referee administrator.

The rest of the procedures are carrying over from the 2012-2013 season, with slight adaptations for the new positions of certification:

  • If a candidate fails any written test, they must wait at least two weeks before they take it again.  Candidates may take the assistant referee or snitch referee written tests up to six (6) times each over the course of the season.  Candidates may take the head referee tests up to four (4) times over the course of the season.  
  • Official IQA games must be refereed by an IQA certified head ref, paid $6 by each team ($12 total per official match).
  • Referee costs will be included with Regional Championship and World Cup registration fees.
  • Certified head referees cannot volunteer to referee an IQA official game without payment.